Skip to content

Floor-DUH!

May 15, 2009

As soon as I arrived in Florida, I was informed I didn’t really have a NY accent but I did say Florida wrong.  Apparently I say Flaarida and I should say Floor-duh.

I ended up being in St. Augustine and Palm Coast and Daytona Beach!  Lots of beach time and tourist-y things.  And of course some good eats!

The food highlight of this trip was my first time at Seasons 52!!! For those that have never heard of this wonderful restaurant chain that exists in Florida and Cherry Hill, NJ they focus on seasonal veggies, fresh flavors and every entree is under 475 kcals! I read about this place a LONG time ago in a Dietitian magazine and ever since have wanted to try it….

CIMG0824tomato basil flat bread-thinnest most amazing crust ever!

CIMG0825

goat cheese ravioli with LOTS of garlic and tomatoes!

CIMG0826

spring vegetable plate-with tofu

CIMG0827

my aunt’s wonderfully presented turkey burger with side salad

CIMG0828

and dessert!! red velvet cake-for me, carrot cake, for mama and some AMAZING pecan pie type shot for auntie!

I loved this place! The trick to getting caloric “bang for you buck” is to fill up with lots of veggies, medium amount of lean protein and whole grain carbs, and small amount of high-fat/high-cal items(like dessert and the tiny amounts of cheese/guac they include in menu items)

There was other good eats in Florida, including a Mother’s Day lunch with the best key lime pie EVER! which apparently my camera ATE the picture of(see, I told you it was good!)

Also, the biggest potato, sweet or otherwise that I have ever seen!

CIMG0793look at the size of this thing!

By the way, if you have never tried grilling sweet potatoes, I HIGHLY recommend it.  They just need to be sliced in thin to medium rounds and brushed with olive oil, salt and pepper.  The man at the farmstand who sold us this potato said he sprinkles brown sugar on one side once they have been flipped.  This also sounds amazing but I have yet to try.

Also, St. Augustine was having a 2009 CrayFish Boil which I figured was a bunch of crayfish and nothing to special.  I was SO wrong. I missed Snoop Dogg, G. Love and the Presidents of the USA! tear.

CIMG0814

Today I walked 12,000 steps! Wahoo! My right knee is getting much much better!

Hope everyone is looking forward to the weekend!-Goodnight

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 5:02 am

    I LOVE Seasons 52!!! I haven’t been in a while…time to go again soon! And that is one massive sweet potato. Yum 🙂

  2. May 15, 2009 2:08 pm

    Haha I definitely say it like Floor-duh! I’m jealous of the Seasons 52 dinner, that restaurant needs to open up in MI!

  3. Gina permalink
    May 16, 2009 3:30 am

    it was great to vacation with you and we did talk about more than food, although all the food talk was fun too!

Leave a Reply

