Skip to content

little fish in a big pond…

May 7, 2009

I had my first day at Tufts today-and WOW! They do so many important things(haha; general I know) and everyone is so SMART! I met the president of the Friedman School of Nutrition graduate program-and by met I mean had cupcakes with! It was his birthday! I was impressed with all that goes on there.  I spent the day learning how to use a computer program that analyzes diet intake.  You cannot just tell it you ate a chicken sandwich- you need to tell it what type of chicken, how it was prepared, skin or no skin, fat added, salt added, what type of bun, condiments(50 + choices for low-fat mayo) It took me at least 7 minutes to enter this chicken sandwich for my tutorial practice.  Hopefully, I get better over the next few weeks.  And luckily(!!!!!!) I get to vacation in FLORIDA starting tomorrow!!! WAHOO! The weather report for Palm Coast, FL reports highs of 90, lows of 70 and SUN!! I am going with my Mom and staying with my Aunt-do you think it is at all possible to convince them to go to a Magic/Celtics game in Orlando? Highly unlikely, but that won’t stop me from trying.  I love the Celtics!

Some of my eats since yesterday(2 days ago?)…..cimg0728

the last of my pumpkin butter in greek yogurt with blackberries and cereal(kashi heart to heart)-This was actually dinner! but it looks like a yummy breakfast

cimg0729

a b-fast cookie(scone?) with pumpkin, oats, flax, protein powder, lots of cinnamon, some maple syrup and topped with dried cranberries

cimg0731

Lentil soup from this cute little cafe around the corner-I wish I had every Tuesday off work to go out for lunch with my Aunt.  I think I could be a “lady who lunches” at least for a little while without getting bored!

cimg0732

fresh apple/carrot/beet juice! I mainly tasted carrots but this was SOOO good.

cimg0733

my lame cinco de mayo celebration consisted of  a Mexican salad: black beans, corn, sauteed peppers and onions, lettuce, salsa and crunched up chips……of this variety

cimg0735

not too spicy with a nice buffalo flavor

cimg0736

also-just putting this out there. I managed to resist my fresh baked blondies the other day(just a small taste) but I couldn’t stay away from 5 mini cookies out of the bag! UGH! I guess it’s ok because I enjoyed them; but not as much as I would have enjoyed my homemade goodies.  Lack of will power; I guess you never know when it’s gonna get ya!

On my way home from the gym today-where I SWEAR a former real world cast member just became a trainer- I was contemplating how to make my veggies-and I said mmmmmmmmm….Italian! My aunt knows me so well because she was already cooking pasta and some yummy bean/tomato sauce.  I just roasted up broc, peppers, and onions with some balsamic(375 for 15-20 minutes flipped 1/2 way through)

cimg0745

I ate mine with some meatless balls and parmesan cheesecimg0747

purty

cimg0750

then since whole foods decided to only carry pumpkin butter seasonally, I made my own! YUM!!! I don’t know numbers but I just mixed canned pumpkin, lots of cinnamon, a small squeeze of lemon juice(this made a big difference in helping the flavors blend together) and lots of maple syrup!  Mine came out less sweet than the store bought version but it was really good and definitely reminded me of pumpkin pie!

cimg0749

look-there is me taking a pic reflected in my pumpkin butter!

Hope everyone is having a great day!! I am off to cut up a mango for my cousin..who is now trying to drop the mango on my computer so I better go before anything bad happens(to my computer or my cousin!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2009 1:39 pm

    What Real Worlder?! I’m obsessed with that show!

    Tasty, tasty eats! That lentil soup looks fantastic! Way to go with the pumpkin butter! Have fun in Florida 🙂

  2. May 7, 2009 7:40 pm

    Oh what RWer did you see? That’s so funny!
    All your food looks great I love your roasted veggies with pasta delish!

  3. May 8, 2009 12:19 pm

    have a fantastic vacation!!! that lentil soup looks delicious

Leave a Reply

