Skip to content

just call me harry potter….

May 3, 2009

I may not have magical powers and a sweet cape- but my scar gets wicked painful!  Is this normal!??!?!? I don’t know…but my knee has been acting all sorts of funny this week and I can’t tell if it is just because I am getting used to walking or something is really wrong.  I was also a complete BRAT to my physical therapist who thought it would be a good idea to put my brace back on because my knee was sometimes buckling when I walked and if I wasn’t able to stop it I may tear my ACL again.  I ADAMANTLY refused!

It went something like this….

PT:you should really wear your brace…

L: NO

PT: maybe in the afternoons when you are tired…

L: No , I am not putting my brace back on.

PT: I recommend….

L: No!!

etc. etc. etc.

Now don’t get me wrong the last thing I want to do is re-tear my ACL but this little buckling has happened to me a lot of times and I have always caught myself(usually it happens when I take too big of a step).  And after spending 8 weeks with my brace I can’t say I miss it at all.  And I don’t want to move backwards only forwards, so no brace!  However, my brattiness(is it OK to make up words on your blog?) has carried over into my exercises( I think I am going through my teenage years in terms of my rehab) because I skipped some this week when I was feeling tired or rushed.  I just decided I was going to do my own routine, and in the almost 3 months prior to this week I have skipped my exercises once(and felt really bad about it).  I need to grow out of this phase but I don’t know how to get motivated again! EEEEK!

In other news, I did eat some good food this week- just wasn’t too motivated to blog because I can walk and be outside and my best friend just moved here and I had a presentation and I went out on a Thursday(gasp!), yada yada yada- but don’t worry, I am not giving up on my blog; it’s my baby!! I have also been lax about blogging comments but I promise I still am reading and love all the blogs out there tons! My Dad and BFF both asked me what happened to the blog but it is still HERE!

One of my dinners-which turned into 3 (with leftovers), involved stir fried red onion, celery, zucchini, and tempeh.  I had to get creative because I didn’t have too many veggies on hand and I actually really like the celery, it was still crunchy and flavorful.  The sauce was 2 parts terriyaki to 1 part BBQ-genius combination(if I do say so myself)!cimg0688

I stopped by Hay Market Saturday morning.  For those that don’t live in Boston, not only is Hay Market a stop on the T, it is also a GIANT outdoor market with cheap produce and fish(eeww this gets smelly).  They have great deals like $1.oo blueberry pints in the winter and A TON of stuff(papaya, starfruit etc).  Some things I don’t like about Haymarket-the fishy smell, the fact that you can’t always hand-pick your produce(they put it in the bag for you-although I think I just need to be more assertive), the produce is usually at the end of it’s life-so it is not a great place to “stock up” on things for the week.  None of this compares however, to my LEAST favorite thing about Hay Market-the sexual harassment!! Blatant and RUDE and unnecessary.  I don’t need it at 9 in the morning when i am browsing produce and I most certainly DO NOT need you asking me about the size of your cucumbers in front of my dad and brother! I have a love/hate relationship with the place, which before moving to Boston I thought would be all love.

I did manage to score some broccoli, red peppers, plums! and strawberries on my way home.  The broccoli and peppers starred in last night’s dinner, along with garlic and onions.  I coated the veggies in teriyaki sauce and roasted them in a 400 degree oven for about 30 minutes, turning 1/2 way through.  I left the garlic cloves whole and probably ate about 6 of them( I was sweatin garlic today at the gym)cimg0698

I enjoyed my roasted veggies with a Quorn chicken patty! These come out much better in the oven and I hope they go on sale again at whole foods soon so I can buy more!

cimg0705

I also tried this blueberry soy milk from the kind folks at Wild Wood( I love that bottle says shake wildly and I did).  It smelled like blueberry yogurt so I was a little scared to try it, based on my soy yogurt experience, but it was really good.  Tastes like a smoothie of soy milk and yogurt with a hint of blueberry flavor(i would have preferred more blueberry!) and it is a little thicker than soy milk.  I think it would be great to pour over cereal or in a smoothie with more fruit added! My one caveat is that 10 oz has 230 calories.  8 oz of my favorite light soy milk has 80.  However, this soy milk is loaded with probiotics(7 live active cultures to be exact), 8 g of soy protien, and Omega-3s! too bad I didn’t try this last week, I talked to a mom wanted to know where they could get pro-biotics for their son who can’t drink milk and doesn’t like yogurt.  Here is the place!

Hope everyone had a great weekend- I gallivanted around cambridge/somerville and watched some awesome CELTICS basketball! Go BOSTON!

p.s. I live REALLY close to the TD banknorth garden-where both the Celtics AND Bruins play! Bruins Friday, Celtics Sat, Bruins Sunday and Celts again on Monday.  There is a lot of great energy and horn-honking in the area! Wahooo!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2009 11:42 pm

    My scars sometimes hurt – it’s more of a burning sensation though, hope that’s not a bad sign 😉

    Gotta love it when there’s a lot of energy where you live!! Sounds like it’s fun living by the stadium!

Leave a Reply

