Skip to content

Beaches, BBQs, and soygurt

April 27, 2009

I had another weekend of great unpictured eats in Vermont.  I was worried that not having photographic reports would make me eat less healthy but I think I did pretty well(good thing I am friends with people who eat healthy foods).  There was some beer, some tequila( a 1/2 a shot haha! I REFUSED to do a full one), and MAPLE soft serve(I also REFUSE to call it a “cremee”).  I basically spent ALL DAY at the beach on Saturday(yes, they have beaches in Vermont) and BBQed at my BFFs.  Hopefully you all had great weekends as well!

I think wildwood tofu may have just saved my blog.  I just got the BEST package ever and squealed in delight!!

cimg0671

That would be the back of MY NEW FAVORITE T-SHIRT EVER!cimg0673A snap-bracelet drink cozy! Quite possibly the COOLEST thing ever, especially with summer coming up!

cimg0672And a HIGH-LIGHTER! it really does not take much to get me excited!! There was OF COURSE food in the package as well.  I may be more excited about the t-shirt though!

Wild Wood was kind enough to send me some products to review.  I used to be a vegan, but the one food that started my conversion back to dairy/eggs was YOGURT! I HATED soy yogurt and I really missed yogurt so I started eating milk-based yogurt, which led to cheese, which led to…..ya get the point? So I was stoked to try some soy yogurt and see how I felt about it now.  Most soygurts add A LOT of sugar but Wild Wood makes a plain yogurt which is the only unsweetened soy yogurt on the market-perfect for diabetic vegans/lactose intolerants.  They are made with organic soybeans, organic, gluten-free, vegan, kosher and have probiotics.  All these facts made me even more excited to taste test so behold: BATTLE YOGURT!

cimg0668

The contenders….

cimg0667In one corner we have Wild Wood Plain Unsweetened Soy Yogurt(left in the bottom pic).  In the other Plain Non-fat Stonyfield farms(which I already like but not as much as Greek yogurt).  Both topped with blackberries to make it interesting.

Looks: Stonyfield: sorry soygurt, but your beige color and more-liquid texture are not as visually appealing.  But you can’t judge a book by it’s cover so…..

Nutrition: Tie: Soygurt had slightly more calories because the Stonyfield was fat-free but otherwise both have similar nutritional contents! Which is good because most soygurts have A LOT more sugar!

Texture: Stonyfield: a creamier yogurt hands down.  Wild Wood was liquidy(in it’s defense I am used to Greek style but still).  However, if you do not like the texture of yogurt, maybe soygurt would be good for you, it was more like a yogurt-smoothie texture.

Taste: Stonyfield: I wanted to pick Wild Wood, I really did(because hello- did you see that t-shirt?!?!) but it tasted like vinegar! Like inedible soygurt vinegar!   And of course the milk-based yogurt tasted delicious!

My Aunt G had the good idea of using the plain soygurt as a base for creamy salad dressings or marinades because yogurt does not always have to be sweet.  I thought this was a good idea so I won’t give up on the soygurt yet, but DO NOT eat with fruit(my advice).

I have some more fun products from Wild Wood to try so while I am at work tomorrow I will probably think of ways to incorporate them into my meals for the week(just kidding I will focus solely on my work!)

Also, my knee is feeling better! Which makes me happy because I was super worried I did something bad!

I love that it is warm here! My windows are OPEN and my down comforters are back in the closet hidden away for the rest of the year!(this is actually questionable because it will probably get cold again in Boston but here’s hoping!)

Time to get to bed because tomorrow is MONDAY! Happy back-to-work day everyone-Lisa D.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2009 4:12 pm

    thanks for the review! ohh and I love pizza…like i eat it almost once a week 🙂 thank god i live in chicago bc i get so many great options 🙂

  2. Bryan permalink
    April 27, 2009 7:31 pm

    Um, correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t that an unfair comparison? You can’t compare something dairy-based with something that isn’t…

    They are two totally different products.

    • April 27, 2009 11:45 pm

      Bryan- good point. However, they are both yogurt and that makes them similar products in my mind! Try the soy yogurt and let me know what you think

      • Bryan permalink
        April 28, 2009 6:28 pm

        Hey again Lisa!

        I have tried the Wildwood soyogurt and I think it’s great; FYI, if you wanted to do another comparison, Stonyfield actually does make a soy yogurt (it’s called O’Soy):

        http://www.stonyfield.com/ourproducts/OSoy-SoyYogurt.cfm

        Love your blog by the way! Keep it up. 🙂

  3. April 27, 2009 10:30 pm

    I would be VERY excited about the highlighter as well!! Have fun taste testing! Hah – Boston weather sounds like Detroit! 82F today and Mid-60s tomorrow!

  4. April 28, 2009 12:43 am

    Fun highlighter!
    I’m loving this beautiful weather too!
    Have fun expiermenting with the soygurts.

  5. Aunt G. permalink
    May 5, 2009 1:50 pm

    I put the soy yogurt on salad and on tuna. It was terrific!

Leave a Reply

