Skip to content

i love breakfast brownies…..

April 15, 2009

Wowza! I loved this breakfast brownie!  I made the mistake of putting it in the freezer overnight and it froze to the plate! I mildly freaked out(for a good 2 minutes!) that I wasn’t going to be able to eat my brownie…then I realized that I could just microwave it.  I stuck the plate in there on defrost for ~ 1 minute and it was delicious(I was very nervous I would ruin it by having some frozen solid parts and some soft mushy parts)  When it came out it was still cold and kind of hard and melted in my mouth!(if I were Sarah I may have inserted a certain line here but I will refrain for now).  It had a kind of nutty flavor with lots of chocolate shining through and the little dried cranberries were the best part!  I also liked knowing it was healthy!  I did some quick stats in my head and this breakfast was probably between 450-500 kcals and had lots of protein, fiber and healthy fats!  It also kept me full from 7:00 am to noon-time lunch!
cimg0524

I wish I could give an exact recipe but I didn’t measure the almond butter(heaping, delicious spoonful) or applesauce(about 1/2 of an individual container)! In case you missed yesterday’s post it also had oats, oatbran, protein powder, dried cranberries and cinnamon! Wow.  One of the things I loooooove about adding cocoa powder is you get this amazingly concentrated chocolately flavor with barely any calories(15 per tablespoon).  I would make the exact same brownie for breakfast (ooh how I love saying that! I feel so naughty!)tomorrow but I am going to try Jenna’s breakfast cookie recipe out(who am I kidding, there will probably be cocoa powder sprinkled in!)

Other things I love about eating breakfast pastries:

– they are ready to go in the morning when you wake up. No excuse to not have “time for breakfast”

-they seriously taste like cookie/brownie dough-not going to lie, a healthy version but no complaints here.

-what is not to love about eating pastries for breakfast that don’t leave you with a sugar crash 1 hour later!

I satisfied my Reese’s craving today and snatched another mini-egg which was luckily un-hollow. 
Dinner was this array of goodies:cimg0535I needed to use up my leftover sweet potato and sauteed spinach and onions.  I also had leftover refried black beans and a frozen TJ’s Cheese and Green Chili Tamale.  All topped with salsa fresca! This was delcious and satisfied my tummy completely.

cimg0531These frozen suckers were my first EVER tamale tasting, and I am sure homemade tamales taste better than frozen pre-packaged ones but these were good.

Ingredient list: Water, Corn Masa Flour, Montery Jack cheese, Green Chiles, Corn Oil, Salt, Red Chili Peppers, White Vinegar, Carrageenan, Oleoresin, Paprika.

Not exactly sure what oleoresin is?  Each pack comes with 2 tamales. Each tamale has 280 calores, 140 calories from fat, 25% saturated fat, 5 g fiber and 8 g protein as well as 20% calcium.

They are pretty high in fat but when paired with the rest of my meal(fat free) the overall percentage isn’t too high.

I think most frozen meals-the healthier ones- anyways can be enjoyed in moderation as part of a healthy diet and are really convenient to have on hand for nights you don’t feel like cooking.  However (and this I learned from my neighbor who was on Jenny Craig) adding lots of veggies to your meal helps to bulk it up(they are usually pretty tiny), and makes your plate healthier and more colorful!

It is an exciting Wednesday in the blog world:

Meghann is giving away honest granola planks.
Caitlin is giving away an AWESOME Stonyfield farms package.
Jenna is giving away some MyMix Granola!

Happy Hump Day!!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 1:10 am

    I’m adding those tamales to my TJs list!!

  2. April 16, 2009 1:50 am

    YUM! I want a breakfast brownie.

  3. April 16, 2009 12:48 pm

    I think I’m the ONLY blogger who hasn’t had the infamous breakfast cookie yet! That TJs tamale sounds fantastic!

  4. April 16, 2009 3:37 pm

    I definitely want to try a breakfast brownie!

Leave a Reply

