Skip to content

dessert for breakfast…

April 15, 2009

Oh my! I’ve seen Gina eat her breakfast cookies and never knew how to go about making one.  But I decided I could try.  I mixed 1/2 cup oats, sprinkle of flax seeds, apple sauce, 1 packet of whey protein and almond butter.  Smooshed out on a plate in the fridge overnight.  And topped with pumpkin butter!cimg0521

I enjoy..enjoy…enjoyed this!  It tasted like I was eating cookie dough for breakfast, healthy cookie dough, but cookie dough none the less! Oh, this fabulous plate was an Easter present!  Perfect size for a breakfast cookie!

My luncheon was not as fancy as I thought but I did eat a tomato/basil/mozzarella sandwich! Yum!  Also, I went to eat a mini Reese’s egg and it was completely hollow-NO PEANUT BUTTER! Such a travesty!  Then I BIKED(for a whole ten minutes) at physical therapy, which is almost just as exciting as walking! To give you an idea of how little strength I have in my legs, biking at zero resistance is REALLY hard!  To make up for my hollow reese’s I ate a Brazilian cashew-creme filled chocolate which was basically a cashew version of a reese’s!  It was awesome(and not hollow), reese’s should really consider adding a cashew product line.

Dinner was really easy and simple… microwaved 1/2 sweet potato with sauteed spinach and onions.

cimg0522cimg0523

and a morning star veggie burger which I pathetically tried to add a BBQ smiley face too!cimg0524

This was not dessert.  This is my breakfast for tomorrow,  a BROWNIE! If you add some cocoa powder to your breakfast cookie and shape it like a square(in another of your pretty new Easter plates-actually all plates on this post are new) that makes it a brownie right?!!?!?  This is a 1/2 cup mixed oatmeal and oatbrean(mostly oatmeal), flax, apple sauce, almond butter, cinnamon, vanilla protien powder, a couple of dried cranberries and cocoa powder.  I am really excited to try this tomorrow!

Also, I just read this article which makes some good points on hunger/satiety hormones. I don’t agree with everything in his philosophy but I especially liked the part where he talks about loading up on empty carbs will leave you feeling hungry sooner than eating a more balanced snack.

Happy Tuesday!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 1:34 am

    When I use to work at a theater in high school we use to get customers a couple of times a year return PB cups that were just solid chocolate… its like the mystery of the missing PB!

  2. April 15, 2009 1:51 am

    how rude, a pb treat with no pb!!

    way to go on starting the PT…it will come back…it may feel slow. lordy do I know it, but it will work

  3. April 15, 2009 2:54 am

    I love Gina’s breakfast cookie. And I totally think that your last picture counts as a brownie 😉

    Ahh, can you believe that nut/popcorn shop CLOSED?! I always enjoyed walking by there and taking in all the amazing smells – and now it’s gone!

  4. barbara permalink
    April 15, 2009 3:30 am

    and what great plates all your goodies are on!!!!

  5. April 15, 2009 3:52 am

    Hey there!! I just found your awesome blog and it is SO much fun to read!!! First of all, you’ve definitely made breakfast cookies sound EASY and irresistable, so I’m now SO pumped to try it even though I’ve seen it on blogs all the time.

    Secondly, your morningstar smiley face cracked me up!! hahaha I love bbq sauce, but it does tend to spread a lot huh!!?? heheheh

    Oh, and Great for you!! Reading up on the WSJ!!! I gotta go find myself some knowlege too. I totally agree with you on the article by the way!!!

  6. April 15, 2009 6:44 am

    Gina’s breakfast cookies definitely are amazing! And I love the smiley face on the veggie burger =) Hope you’re having a great week so far.. good luck with the PT! I know how your feel!!

    -Megan

  7. April 15, 2009 1:35 pm

    Haha – I laughed out loud at your BBQ smiley face! He looks a little scary to be honest (although i’m sure it was still tasty!)

    I like how you’ve taken the simple breakfast cookie and have created a breakfast brownie. Ingenious! I’m looking forward to seeing whether it lived up to expectation 😉

  8. April 15, 2009 5:19 pm

    Lisa,
    So glad you get to lose the crutches…I know you are too! You’ll be riding high resistance and doing hill sprints on that stationary bike before you know it. Just be patient and give it time. Your muscles will remember what to do.

    Breakfast cookies…yum! I always pop mine in the freezer. I love the frozen texture, and they’re much easier to take on the go if you’re ever in a hurry.

    reese’s should really consider adding a cashew product line.…along with an almond butter line!

    Empty carbs never do anything to satiate my hunger. I need protein and fat.

    Hope you’re having a good crutch-free week. 🙂

  9. April 15, 2009 7:18 pm

    Oh I would have been upset if I got a pb cup with no pb! Don’t mess with me and my pb!
    Love your “brownie” for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

