Skip to content

Look who’s walking now?!?!

April 14, 2009

This weekend I was home for a brief 26 hour period but it was SO great!  I ate great food and got to see my family and watch some good movies in the car on the way there and back-Slumdog Millionaire and The Reader, both VERY good!

Saturday my dessert free week ended with lots of cookies at my mom’s-she LOVED her biscotti by the way!And then for Easter Brunch my father, who loves making pancakes, made some mean waffles…..cimg0499

Start with these…

cimg0500

add these

cimg0501

and this, sorry for the sideways- if any of you have Costco memberships and LOVE peanut butter(or even like it just a little bit) this peanut butter comes highly recommended.  There are just two ingredients-peanuts and salt- and it is ORGANIC and cheap and you will have peanut butter for weeks(or months even!)

cimg0503

And make this- my first ever waffle sandwich! There may have also been an appearance of maple syrup(you can see the bottles in the background-there were 3 in total! we are a little maple syrup obsessed in this house)  This sandwich was SO good!  Messy and a fun new way to eat waffles!

cimg0506

I dipped my second 1/2 of a waffle(too full for the whole thing) in a mix of PB and maple syrup!  Yummy.

cimg0514

Guess someone smelled some waffles!

cimg0509

Sorry Dancer! You don’t get fed from the table!  I am really getting this evil eye because I couldn’t take her for a w-a-l-k!(you can’t even spell the word in my house without my dog freaking out! She is so smart she can spell!!)

cimg0515

There was also some Easter dinner at my fav Greek restaurant, Mykonos( if you are ever in Dobbs Ferry, NY you should go THERE).  This is the potato/garlic dip-skordalia that comes with WARM delicious pita!  It was devoured in minutes by myself and the fam-mostly by my brother.

In other news, I saw the MD today and he gave me an A+!!!! He said my knee was strong, I was healing nicely and I can WALK!  WITHOUT CRUTCHES!!!! This is such an exciting day! Except, I have no idea how to walk, seriously you try not doing it for 6 weeks and see if you can walk!  He said I need to ween slowly off the crutches so I had them at work and decided to leave them in the office for lunch.  Well I looked like a complete fool(walking very slowly, off balance, holding my hands out haha) but I made it there and back! I am SOOOOOO happy to be almost done with my crutches!

Hope you all had a great holiday and are looking forward to a fabulous work week!  I get to go to a fancy luncheon tomorrow(is saying fancy and luncheon together a bit redundant? does luncheon just imply fancy?!?)  I also have my first post-6 weeks visit at physical therapy.  Which means, they will be making sure to do all the fun stuff to my knee that we couldn’t do for 6 weeks-maybe even a trip around the bike! Who knows, but I am excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh and in other foodie news- I got fun blogging Easter presents which will be popping up here soon!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 1:10 am

    Thanks so much for the sweet comment on my site! It made my day 🙂 So glad to hear your knee is doing well! When I was in college I was hit by a car and had to be on crutches forever, I remember how exciting it was to not have to tote those around anymore. My arms did get pretty buff from it though 🙂

  2. Ashley permalink
    April 14, 2009 1:30 am

    Wow I’m jealous of how quickly you are recovering! I didn’t get rid of my crutches until 14 weeks after surgery. Isn’t it amazing how quickly you can forget how to walk? At first my PT would have to tell me exactly what to do with my legs and feet. Lot’s of practice and you’ll get your balance and strength back in no time!

  3. April 14, 2009 3:14 am

    Hurray for being able to walk without crutches! That is so big 🙂 And I love your idea for eating waffles!

    You used to go to NU?! That’s where I go! If you ever come back to Evanston, we will have to reminisce on some of the best eateries ever!

  4. April 14, 2009 6:54 am

    Your dog is so precious!!!! The waffle-wich looks divineeee, I still need to try one!! And yay, glad the doctor’s appointment went so well, that is definitely some good news!

  5. April 14, 2009 8:41 pm

    Love your waffles!
    And how great that you can walk without the crutches!!!!

Leave a Reply

