Skip to content

dayquil and baking….

April 10, 2009

Good thing I stopped for soup yesterday, who doesn’t love soup when they are sick? However, I added so much too it it wasn’t exactly soup by the time I was through.  I nuked some meatless balls and spinach with the soup.  This isn’t the ideal way to add spinach to your soup, as you can see it’s not super wilty but I was too lazy to sautee it first.  Along with some lazy “tortilla” chips.  I used the whole tortilla this time and toasted it to 8 out of 10 on my toaster.  This left some parts crunchy and some parts chewy and they were a really good scooper for my leftover “guac”!
cimg0485

cimg0483

This avocado stayed pretty green for being in the fridge overnight.  The trick to keeping guacamole green is to put in air-tight tupperware WITH a layer of saran wrap over the top of the dip.  That way the air in the tupperware cannot get to the avocado! Genius tip, taught to me by a woman who makes some of the best guacamole I’ve ever had.  I don’t personally know how she ever ends up with leftovers, it is THAT good!

In between the above eats, lots of cough drops and some dayquil(which makes me soooooo loopy) I managed to make my mom some biscotti(while washing my hands numerous times, don’t you worry mom!)  I felt so much pressure baking these because I have never sold any of my baked goods for $40!! Good thing I doubled the recipe because I sliced them nice and thick and ate some dough along the way.  Foodservice has taught me that you need to taste your recipes every step of the way(yes it also taught me eating raw eggs is bad but dough around cranberries and chocolate and almonds makes them all taste yummier).  I also had some pieces that fell off while I was cutting the biscotti, ya know to taste and make sure it came out OK.

cimg0492

cimg0491cimg0495I made some with cranberries and almonds and some with chocolate and almonds and they are both delicious.  My aunt already said that if she had known how good they were she would have bid on them too!  I gave her a little broken piece.  I would have shared more but these are bought and paid for!

Time for a dayquil induced nap!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2009 12:42 am

    those biscottis look awesome!

  2. R.J. permalink
    April 11, 2009 2:15 am

    They tasted awesome too!

Leave a Reply

