Skip to content

happy RD to be…

April 6, 2009

Today was Sports Nutrition Class Day with all the other Boston dietetic interns and I am sooooooooo happy to be an almost-RD!!!!!!!!!  We talked about fueling the athlete, eating disorders and athletes and college athletes.  Basically, my dream job right now would be to work on a college campus as an RD, so maybe I can make that happen in September!  I’ll write more later about what we learned, but now I just want to quickly post and start my paper since I am feeling super motivated to do anything that will help me finish my internship/become a registered dietitian( I am hoping this motivation lasts for a long time, but it will most likely taper off in about 45 minutes).

I packed lunch:

cimg0432some carrots and hummus

cimg0434And I know it’s hard to tell( because I was trying to be discreet about taking a public picture!) but that’s some leftover buffalo tempeh with peppers and onions wrapped up with baby spinach, low-fat cheese and some fat-free refried black beans.  I think bringing your lunch is the best because it’s usually healthier than eating out and it saves you from spending ten dollars on sandwiches like this one from Au Bon Pain…

cimg0435I don’t know exactly what was in there.  But thank you Krissy for modeling your messy and expensive sandwich!

Also, Au Bon Pain has some bangin desserts which are a staple in the cake-diet of the lovely intern, Agnes…

cimg0438Some kind of cheesy muffin which looked SO good! Agnes made a face when I asked her if she liked it though! Hah, she was hoping for eclair filling and I think it was more cheesy danish.  At least it looks pretty!

And then we had way too much fun in the hospital gift shop…

cimg0439

There are more pictures like this, but I will spare you.  Let’s just say shopping/intern friends/silly costumes makes me HAPPY(can you tell by the big smile)!

When I got home I made an awesome snack of Oikos mixed with about 2 tsps. of lemon curd and blackberries! The lemon curd makes the yogurt a little sweet and tart and it is a very good combo!

cimg0445sooo good!

Also, one of our speakers today was Nancy Clark who used to be an intern at none other than the hospital I am doing my internship at! She is a SERIOUS celebrity in the sports nutrition world and I bought her book which I already started flipping through and it has some great stuff in there!

cimg0447Mine is autographed!!!! I will be posting more about this book, because I know you all will appreciate it.

Quick tipI learned today:

Hard exercise typically supresses men’s appetite and increases women’s.

Today is the day of Meghann’s Blog Bake Sale!!!!! These goodies LOOK amazing and I am making biscotti for the big sale to benefit the leukemia and lymphoma society!
Another fun giveaway is taking place at Danica’s blog! Check it out. She is also a baker in the bake sale and wow! She is basically making girl scout cookies on crack! YUM

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 8:58 pm

    interesting fact about working out and women’s appetite…

  2. April 7, 2009 5:27 pm

    totally agree about bringing your lunch!!

    I read Nancy Clarks book and really liked it. How exciting to almost be an RD, the classes sound really interesting

  3. April 7, 2009 5:53 pm

    that wrap sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

