Skip to content

lisa stirfries….

April 2, 2009
tags:

Today was the first time I blogged in the mornin since I have been cooped up in bed!  But I had a late day at work and figured I should get up and be semi-productive.  I had the CUTEST patients today, I looooooove my internship(sometimes)!  I didn’t get home til 6:15 and me knee was throbbing and needed mucho rest, and I was smelly and needed a shower so FINALLY at 8:00 I started cooking dinner(this is super late for me anyways)….But it was a good one(and cheese free!)  I started by dicing pressed tofu(smooshed between two plates with paper towels to absorb water, for those of you who “don’t like” tofu, you probably haven’t had it pressed) and sauteeing in canola oil…

cimg0371

I cooked this on high heat, stirring only a little so it got goldeny brown, then removed from the pan and added…..cimg0372

mucho veggies! along with unpictured garlic, onion, carrots, water chestnuts and minced ginger

cimg0373

fun to play with: tamari, canola oil, rice vinegar, sesame oil…cimg0375

star ingredient: red pepper flakescimg0379

all together now!( I also added a splash of OJ)cimg0380

My perfectly portioned serving sitting on top of 1/3 cup brown rice and 1/3 cup peas.  I RARELY measure my portions but I just grabbed a measuring cup to use instead of a spoon.  This was really good, the combination of soy sauce with the sweetness of OJ and the spiceness of the ginger and red pepper flakes!  Lots of veggies and PROTEIN!

p.s. on a side note I tried my hardest not to have cheese at lunch, I had some veggie chili and there was already cheese on top-but only a little teeny bit!

Add to this meal, one tiny dinner roll and an orange.  K, it’s almost past my bedtime.  But you should all TRY this recipe.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 4:30 pm

    Oh wow, super scrumptious!!!!

  2. April 2, 2009 8:39 pm

    That stirfry looks delicious!! I’ve actually never made tofu on my own always had it out, but maybe I’ll have to try it soon.

  3. April 3, 2009 12:39 am

    OJ, what a nice touch Lisa! Sorry about the throbbing knee. 😦

    Here’s to a good Friday and a cheeseless weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

