Skip to content

i like my eggs soft….

April 2, 2009

This morning I was in a WONDERFUL mood.  I was woken up to a beautiful song wafting out of my alarm clock radio.  It went: ” AMMMMMY, what you wanna d0000o, I’d like to stay for awhile maybe longer if I doooooooooooooo” or something like that.  Does anyone know who sings this song or what it is called?  Because I loved it.  Oh yea and for breakfast I had something amazing and something not so great…cimg0382

I had an english muffin(half eaten hehe) with sunflower seed butter(very nice taste for those with peanut allergies/those who love all nut butters), some mixed berry jam on one half and PUMPKIN BUTTER on the other! I used Trader Joe’s brand, which I have tried once before and said eh? but this time it was AMAZING!  I think I may be eating this every day because it is soooo good!  My mouth was soooo happy until I ate part 2 of breakfast: 1 hardboiled egg, sans yolk.  I try to convince myself I like these because the protein but I really do NOT!  If I had more time I would have fried the lil eggy so it was nice and delicious! At least I got my balanced breakfast in.

I also brought my camera to work and had BIG plans to take a picture.  Then I sat down in the hospital cafeteria with my tray and thought nevermind; this is not the place.  But I had a grilled veggie wrap with mozzarella(of course I had cheese) and a smidgen of beans;  a pear; and most of a white chocolate macademia nut cookie(stay tuned for more cookies).

I also did not photograph dinner because it was just leftovers but I HIGHLY advise that if you have stirfry leftovers you stick them in a warm wrap.  It was like moo-shoo without the plum sauce.

And after dinner…I ate not 1 but 2 OREOS with cashew butter(upgrade!) that had been staring me in the face since Tuesday.  You know when food is out on the counter I am much more likely to grab it, then when it is far away, behind closed doors.  Out of sight, out of mind!

This second serving of cookies made me realize that my calorie intake has probably been MORE than what I am expending(stinkin KNEE!).  So, and I’m putting this out there so I can stick with it.  I am giving up deserts for the next whole week.  I would extend this period, but I am going home for EASTER!

Hmmm.. I feel like I need to add some more nutrition education to today’s blog so:

Heart Disease is the number one killer in this country.  Most of you have probably heard of good cholesterol and bad cholesterol.  The “good kind” HDL, can be increased with exercise and eating 1 oz of nuts(walnuts and almonds are good choices).  The “bad kind” can be lowered with exercise and eating foods with soluble fiber like oats and beans.

Also, while cholesterol has gotten a bad rap in the media, studies show that consuming saturated fat is worse for your cholesterol levels.  Foods high in saturated fat are: cheese(my beloved), whole milk products, beef, bacon, butter, cream etc.

TAKE CARE OF YOUR HEART!  I think the best way to do that is EXERCISE and eating right and of course making sure there is lots of loooooove in your life so your heart is HAPPY!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy's Mom permalink
    April 3, 2009 12:28 am

    Amie is the name of the song, and it is done by Pure Prairie League…hope this finds you mending well…and still feeling happy….

    Love love love

  2. BFF permalink
    April 3, 2009 1:03 am

    mmmmmm pumpkin butter! christy likey! btw, i had a delicious salad today that included feta cheese and balsamic vinegar, reminded me of chase st and made me smile!

  3. April 3, 2009 2:28 am

    Hi Lisa, cute blog! I luv pizza too. Esp onion pizza.

    I can’t eat just a hardboiled egg white. The yolk, plus salt, totally makes it. I feel ya on that one.

  4. April 3, 2009 2:47 pm

    I need to try some sunflower butter

    And don’t be shy with the camera, trust me no one will even notice you’re taking a picture…lol

  5. April 3, 2009 6:41 pm

    I used to feel weird taking pictures in public places but believe me Meghann’s right no one will notice!

Leave a Reply

