Skip to content

time flies….

April 1, 2009

Wow, I cannot believe it’s April.  Happy April Fool’s day!  I am not the biggest fan of the holiday because in High School my best friend got me so good I was crying before she said “April Fools!”  My brother also soaked me by tying a rubber band around the sink spray attachment so instead of water coming out of the faucet it went all over me!  I also stink at pranking people so, not my most favorite holiday but I’m glad(and surprised) it is April already.

Last night for dinner I was craving a greek-style salad, too bad we didn’t have olives in the house.

cimg0367

I mixed baby spinach, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, hummus, feta and a drizzle of balsamic!

cimg0368

close up shot, because for once I thought I was eating pretty food!cimg0369

On the side I had a small plate with some of the creamy lasagna caprese: noodles, tomatoes, fresh basil, mozzarella and homemade bechamel sauce with nutmeg.  And to boost the protein, meatless balls.

cimg0370

This is what the lasagna looked like in the pan.  Fresh basil is amazing.  The whole apt. looked wonderful.  I also was glad I was able to consume some fat(cheese, sauce, hummus) with my spinach because it helps you to absorb the vitamins better.

For breakfast this morning, I mixed Fage 0% Greek yogurt with Kashi Go Lean and a diced apple.  Topped with flax, cashew butter and a drizzle of maple syrup.  Note to self, do not mix cereal with yogurt the night before; it gets soggy!  I knew this but thought that it would save me time in the morning.  It probably saved me 3 seconds and was not worth it.  Live and learn.

Today, my goal is to have a protein packed lunch that does not include cheese.  I eat way to much cheese and while I LOVE cheese and its valuable addition of calcium and protein to my diet, I do NOT love the high sodium, saturated fat and cholesterol content.  Especially because I eat so much of this stuff!  Have a great day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 8:05 pm

    That lasanga looks great! I love the smell of basil!

Leave a Reply

