Skip to content

It’s time for a bake sale!….

March 26, 2009

I feel like I have been MIA from blogging for so long but really it’s only been a day.  I didn’t feel like writing yesterday because I was tired ate 1/2 a pint of Ben and Jerry’s.  It wasn’t my fault really the ice cream had a chunk of NEVER ENDING BROWNIE and I had to keep going til I finished it.  In reality, I was just tired and left alone to my own devices in the kitchen.   It actually said right on the carton ” Friends don’t let friends overdo dessert” but I had no friends present.  Next time I will call someone hah…or just use my own willpower to put the spoon down because I have food like this in my life………..

frozen yogurt

I turned this bad boy into my very own frozen yogurt(not during the same night as my b&j fro-yo attack).  I opened it first and stirred it all up and stuck it in the freezer.  Maybe because my freezer is hardcore or because I didn’t stir it up enough it froze a little un-evenly(aka some was still soft and some was a rock) but it was still awesome.  I think too much honey for my tastes so next time I would just take the plain and add my own honey but it was super creamy and nice and portion controlled and brownie-free!

buried treasure

buried treasure

Breakfast take 1: Somewhere under the strawberries and blueberries and kashi go lean is Chobani plain yogurt.  Maple syrup drizzled on top and yum!

cimg0321

Breakfast 2: My new favorite food cashew butter finally dissapointed me!  Peanut butter and honey and banana is one of my all time favorite sandwiches so I thought of course I will love it with cashew butter.  FALSE.  I mean it was OK but didn’t even come close to PB, honey and banana.  Live and learn…..

my concoction

my concoction

Also per requests of Rhodey and Amanda I have decided to re-post the recipe for my chickpeas that I already posted and then deleted before anyone could read ugh!

* I don’t EVER measure when I cook so these are all estimates*

Pre-heat pan to medium high heat and add 1 tsp of olive oil or cooking spray.  Add 1/2 diced onion( I would have used more but I was out) and 2 peeled and diced carrots.  Cook for about 5 minutes while stirring or until onions are translucent.  Add 1 can drained and rinsed chickpeas and ~2 TBSP tomato paste.  I also added ~1 tsp each of pepper, cumin, coriander and paprika.  For spicy chickpeas(I ❤ spicy) I added ~1 tbsp Frank’s buffalo sauce.  After about 2 more minutes cooking, add spinach and cook til wilted. I used about 1 cup but that’s only because it was all I had left.  Then ENJOY!!!!!!

And last but certainly not least, I am baking for a cause.  Meghann is having another bloggie bake sale( I wasn’t a part of food blogs for the last one) but I heard it was great.  She is training for a marathon(awesome) and raising money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma society while doing it!  I think she and her blog are awesome.  I also think her cause is particularly great because both my dad and my aunt are non-hodgkin’s lymphoma SURVIVORS!Anyways, the bake sale is on April 6th and since I’m pretty new to the blogging world and haven’t been in tip-top baking shape as of lately(baking and crutches don’t go together too well) I thought I would dedicate my next post to how awesome a baker I am!….but you will just have to take my word for it until you bid on my delicious cranberry-pistachio biscotti on April 6th!! Delicious cookies and helping a good cause…can you really say no to that people?!?!? I don’t think so!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 7:30 pm

    Thanks for the bake sale shout out 🙂

Leave a Reply

