Skip to content

sometimes i take pictures….

March 23, 2009
tags:

This weekend my camera got some action……..

cimg0270

Saturday AM breakfast, clearly I took a couple bites before the pic was taken but the cashew butter was getting so deliciously melty on my toast i couldn’t resist.  There is also some whipped cottage cheese and strawberries.

cimg0283

Then for lunch I made a “use up everything in the fridge salad” which was baby spinach, some white bean salad, sauteed peas and carrots, fresh salsa, hummus, BBQ sauce(inspired bysarah) and topped with a lone tortilla chip which was so yummy for scooping up the hummus. (I also had a Clif bar at some point between breakfast and lunch- I was insanely unexpectedly just plain hungry all day)

postcard lovin

postcard lovin

I was so happy to get this in the mail!!(however this postcard had no stinkin return address but you can def expect an email and maybe some more blog shout outs).  At first I tried to figure out who I knew from Greece, but then I realized it’s from Chicago’s Greek town!! Chicago is the home to amazing Greek food and more recently my beautiful former-intern now RD buddy Erin!

Oh and I neglected to photograph dinner because 1) I forgot and 2) it was super boring canned veggie soup and a low fat cheese stick… I ate while watching the BU terriers win the Hockey East tourney in Boston and updating my California Uncle(excellent cook and BU alum) with highlights because they don’t care about East coast hockey out West.

Then my lovely friend came to have a baby sleepover… I say baby because we are on totally different sleeping schedules and I conked out at like 10 pm on a Saturday night!  But not before we got in some great chatting time and I fed her some kettle corn and bagel chips!

blended breakfast

blended breakfast

I was inspired this morning by so many blended bowls of oats that I have seen(plus my dad just brought up my immersion blender which I looooooove).  This bowl was 1/4 cup oats and oatbran, 1 small banana, 1 cup water(blended right in the pot with my blender) topped with flax, cinnamon, cottage cheese, and a tiny spoonful of cashew butter.

in over my head

in over my head

This was soooooooooooooo filling!! I could not even come close to finishing it and I was sufficiently stuffed!! Blended oats with some protein will be a good way to start a workday, when you are like me and your tummy is normally growling by 11 am and you know you don’t get lunch til at least 12!!

bagel chip salad

This is pretty much the exact same salad as yesterday (minus the leftovers I finished) and topped with 2 homemade bagel chips!! You wish you had homemade bagel chips(trust me!).  I can’t remember the last time I had bagel chips but they did not taste this good.  Luckily, the friendly local grocer offered to slice the leftover bagels and the machine cut them so thin.  Then they were just baked up with some salt, pepper and cooking spray(to get them even more crispy) at 375 degrees for about 4 minutes per side!  This same technique works with pitas which are easier to find in their natrual, thin, and easily crisped state.

I should note I also snacked a lot today on a granola bar, apple with some yogurt for dipping, and a pomegranate chocolate vita-top and a tiny piece of brownie(do I think the weekends make me more hungry? or maybe it was just my salad either way I feel like I ate a lot yesterday and today) Before dinner, I munched on a carrot….

whole wheat mac and cheese

whole wheat mac and cheese

And then for dinner I made Annie’s whole wheat mac and cheese(which my awesome old-roomie sent down in a care package-thanks Christy!!) But I think I screwed it up-the box says you can make it with yogurt or milk so I thought I would test out my new Oikos plain yogurt becauseStonyfield was kind enough to send me some coupons! The yogurt looked really creamy and delicious but I can’t really review it here because I don’t think I liked it in the mac and cheese. I also added a splash of milk because the sauce looked to thick but then it turned to runny. The only thing this mac and cheese had going for it was the peas!! I love peas in my mac and cheese!!

Because I was so disappointed I ate a couple bites of Ben and Jerry’s half-baked fro-yo(yes ruined mac and cheese drives me to chocolate!)

And then I called it a night.  I don’t know if I’m cut out for taking pictures of my food but I tried my best(clearly I missed a few).  Just thought I would post a weekend re-cap of sorts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:45 am

    Keep up the pictures. It almost feels like we are enjoying a meal together.

  2. March 29, 2009 7:50 pm

    Lisa! Why don’t you take pictures of your meals at MGH Eat Street!?!? hahaha that would be wildly entertaining for me

Leave a Reply

