Skip to content

pancakes!…

March 15, 2009

my wonderful father came to visit this weekend so of course he made his specialty for breakfast….pancakes! He has some top-secret recipe(that he would probably give out if I begged) but since he plans on someday opening a pancake shop I wouldn’t want to reveal his secrets here.

cimg0203

I topped mine with some mango and there was some vanilla Oikos on the side.  Of course I had….

my favorite!

my favorite!

REAL maple syrup.  This is my favorite! I get so disappointed at restaurants that CLAIM to have real maple syrup when in reality it’s the fake stuff.  It definitely makes a difference in whether I order pancakes or some kind of egg….

Then for lunch we stopped at Whole Foods because I really wanted Cabot cheese and the one in my fridge went moldy.  And while we were there I checked out the hot bar and found…..cimg0195

Thank goodness my dad was there to help me fill up while I was on crutches! I managed to snag two pieces of BBQ tempeh(AMAZING), some corn & cuke salad, 2 pieces roasted sweet potato, a roasted yellow pepper piece and garlicky green beans! I also grabbed one of these:

an IZZE

an IZZE

I forgot how much I love these.  I probably haven’t drank one in years but it was quite refreshing, even though all the bubbles filled up my tummy.  And while I wasn’t that hungry I had to try some of this(because it was the original reason we went to WF)…

apple and cheddar!

apple and cheddar!

apples and cheddar are just SO good together! But my dad had to help me with this because I was stuffed(and very satisfied).

Dinner was comfort food x2! 1. It was a hearty soup and 2. It takes me back to my childhood.  I always feel really happy eating foods from when I was little so I guess it’s good my parents fed my bro and I pretty healthy.  I also love pb and j on arnold whole wheat bread for the same reasons.  I feel like a kid again….

lentil soup!

lentil soup!

Yes that’s me in the background but I decided my face was NOT photo-ready.  Also, this pic makes me sad because lentil soup is not the prettiest food but it was sooo good and the house smelled amazing(I guess I like the lentil smell).  The soup is really easy to make and lentils are high in iron and protein and fiber!  To make: it’s pretty much sautee onions and garlic, add chopped carrots and celery and potatoes.  Add lentils and cover with water.  Add thyme, parsley and oregano(my guess is a tsp or so of each), salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to boil, then lower to simmer until potatoes and lentils are tender(this is loosely based off the recipe on the back of the lentil bag). Back in day, my dad added bacon and hotdogs, which as a kid I loved(but not as much as the carrots, those are my favorite part).

So, last night I read in SELF magazine that people who photograph their food are less likely to eat at as much and it helps them lose weight(hence all the pics today).  Plus, I had three AWESOME meals.  There were also a couple of strawberries and honey-wheat pretzels and 1/2 chocolate chip cookie(fresh out of the oven!) that crossed my lips but it is soooo hard to remember to photograph everything!

I hope everyone had a GREAT weekend.  I go back to work tomorrow and see the knee doctor in the morning.  EEEK!  Just for an update, my knee is getting much better and I’m in and out of bed all bymyself and almost ready for just 1 crutch instead of two.  However, almost 2 weeks after surgery I still cannot lift up my right leg by itself.  It’s freaky.  But I’m working on building up that muscle!

p.s. sorry for the superlong post!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 12:43 am

    really photographing meals helps? hmm i like that idea! though it’s true that I want to post about my healthier meals!!

    good luck with the doc, hope he has nothing but great things to say

  2. March 16, 2009 1:21 am

    LIsa,
    How fun that your dad wants to open his own pancake restaurant. I love that. 🙂

    So glad you’re healing. You’ll be crutch free before you know it. Just keep up the positive attitude.

    Mmm, love lentils and BBQ tempeh and REAL maple syrup. Don’t know why I messed around with the sugar free stuff for so long.

    Have a wonderful week!

  3. March 17, 2009 1:20 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    I see that you’re a fan of Oikos! I’m not sure if you’ve gotten a chance to try all of the flavors but I’d love to send you some free coupons to give them all a shot. Just shoot me an email at Kdrociak@stonyfield.com if you’re interested and let me know where to send them.

    Take care!
    Kristina
    Stonyfield Farm

  4. March 17, 2009 9:24 pm

    Hi Lisa! You’re right – lentils don’t necessarily look INCREDIBLE, but aren’t they amazing? Total nutritional powerhouses!

Leave a Reply

