Skip to content

hungry….why wait?

March 11, 2009

There are many reasons people eat besides hunger: boredom, the smell of food, time(ie: it’s 12 o’clock, time for lunch), so-and-so just made brownies, etc. etc. etc.

I think I’ve found a solution to mindless eating.

Step 1: Tear your ACL.

Step 2: Have surgery and not be able to get out of bed/make food.

Step 3: Listen to your body, and only ask people to get you food when you truly are HUNGRY.

Disclaimer: I would never actually recommend for anyone to inure themselves(trust me, not worth it).

Really though, when every meal you eat requires asking someone to help you, or the long process of crutching out of bed to try and help yourself(only to realize that you have no free hands to carry food-has anyone else on crutches figured out how to do this?), it makes you think before you eat which leads to –> no mindless eating! I wouldn’t call it truly intuitive eating because you still have to stop when you’re full and the food is in front of you(and being stuck in bed doesn’t guarantee that’s going to happen).

It’s something a lot of people struggle with and my actual advice would just be this: Do something else when you want to eat but know it’s not because your’e hungry.  Curl up under the covers(NO ONE wants to get out of a comfy bed), go for a walk, paint your nails, read a book, call a friend, pretend you have a broken leg and can’t make it to the kitchen.  You get the idea.  And if you’re really hungry go get something to eat.  It sounds simple, but I never realized how much I grab snacks/eat just because food is there.  Now that I’m away from it(even though I’m bored), I don’t eat when I’m not hungry.

p.s. nobody’s perfect and I was not hungry when I had that black and white cookie yesterday! But I didn’t eat the whole thing, just a couple of bites.

p.p.s. Gina is in a super-generous mood over at fitnessista (I wonder why??) And is doing an awesome giveaway of Quaker Natural products including an organic robe/slippers and some of their new Simple Harvest Granola Bars(my roomie and I tried the chocolate ones last year and they were good!). So check out her site for a chance to win!

There is another wonderful New Orleans themed giveaway here:HoneyNutLo.

Good Luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. zestycook permalink
    March 11, 2009 4:21 pm

    Your writing is hilarious! I love it and I love eating. Thanks for the kind comment about my basil pesto 🙂

    zesty

  2. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    March 11, 2009 7:29 pm

    i added your extra entry 😀
    love your blog!!!!

  3. Ashley permalink
    March 12, 2009 12:01 am

    Your solution to mindless eating made me laugh because it is so true. Especially if you are super independent like me and hate having to ask people for help you will wait until you’re REALLY hungry to ask!

Leave a Reply

