Skip to content

feelin corn-y…..

March 11, 2009
tags: , ,

This afternoon I watched the documentary film King Corn. It was about two guys from Boston who move to Iowa to farm an acre of corn and track it through the food system. Turns out America eats a LOT of corn. It was a cool film and I figured I would highlight some things I learned:

-Livestock consume 70% of the antibiotics used in US

-50% of corn produced in America goes to feed livestock

-America’s favorite red meat is ground beef(which doesn’t surprise me since America’s favorite vegetable is french fries and we all know where they serve both of those)

-Prior to 1970 no one ate HFCS because it was too EXPENSIVE to make

-Consumption of sweeteners(sugar, HFCS, etc.) has gone up more than 30% in last 30 years

-1 in 8 New Yorkers has Type 2 Diabetes ( I think they mean NYC here but WOW that’s high)

-Drinking 1 (or more) soda(s) a day almost doubles the risk of developing Type 2 Diabetes(compared to drinking none)

-The government subsidizes the overproduction of cheap corn

-We spend less(percentage of income-wise) on our food than any other generation in history

Interesting stuff. I didn’t realize how much corn affects the food supply. A few years ago I tried to give up HFCS. I was doing really well, although it was hard, and probably lasted a few months(HFCS shows up everywhere). The food that broke me was…….. the ketchup packets at Whole Foods. I have a lot of love for Whole Foods and they don’t SELL anything with HFCS in it or trans fats which is nice. I guess they just give it away for free in the cafe area(or at least they did 4 years ago)! So, that was the end of that and now I just try to avoid it as much as possible.

Just for fun(and kind-of related):

artistic ketchup

artistic ketchup

french fry in paris

french fry in paris

I think these new ketchup packets are sooooooooo cute! The french fry painting is my favorite, and I know it’s hard to read but there is high fructose corn syrup listed as an ingredient.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 10:52 pm

    I do my best to avoid it to; but honestly, it’s EVERRYWHERRE!! lol Those packets are wayyyy cute! Did you say you got them at Whole Foods? No WF around me! boo!

    p.s. just found your blog! Love it!

    • March 11, 2009 11:05 pm

      the packets were from a different cafe, but the Whole Foods mentioned in the post used to carry Heinz ketchup packets.

  2. March 12, 2009 10:37 pm

    Hey just found you from healthy tipping point and love your site! HFCS is so hard to avoid, I didn’t realize how much it was in until i started looking…my granola bars..I mean they are supposed to be healthy!!

Leave a Reply

