Skip to content

What a lovely day for a visit…

March 8, 2009

It’s Saturday! Normally my favorite day of the week, but when every day is the same(ie: your’e stuck in bed all day) it loses some of it’s excitement.  Unless of course two of your favorite people come to see you!!  While I loved my visitors more than anything they had ZERO self-restraint at a delicious Boston bakery called Flour before they came over(really I blame myself, I should have known to set limits haha).  They came with a HUGE bag full of not 1, not 2, not 3 but FOUR white boxes of breakfast pastry goodness.  I of course was not hungry, but I had to look.  I would post pictures for all of you because they were soooo pretty but sadly the boxes were moved to the kitchen and I am still immobile)maybe later they will come back?).  I did manage to eat a bite of a super-sticky cinnamon bun and one bite of cheese tartlet which were both delicious.  I promise, I’m trying to eat some healthy food along the way but when 4 pastry boxes show up in your apartment its hard to turn them down.

So…I had a wonderful time visiting and chatting and laughing (although, I didn’t want to tell them,when I laugh too much it hurts my knee because my whole body shakes and these girls make me LAUGH).  It was worth it.

I am also really trying to eat protein because I know my body needs it to heal and my muscles need it so they don’t break themselves down….it’s weird to know exactly what is happening inside your body(like being able to list all the catabolic reactions-I’m a dork I know)…so I made myself eat some tofu and miso soup(with tofu) and a little bit more peanut butter.

Finally, I called my Dad to let him know I learned to crutch, he’s back in NY with my Uncle, who’s visiting from California.  They are making an ALMOST vegetarian stir-fry for dinner!! That makes me so proud!!(usually they do not cook vegetarian meals, I don’t know what the almost means but I am sure it’s just a tiny bit of meat and mostly veggies and grains!) Wish I could be there, my Uncle is a super good cook.  Guess I’ll just have to visit him in Cali once I can walk again.

p.s. thanks for the ice Aunt G.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. emd316 permalink
    March 8, 2009 7:22 pm

    Hey Lisa, It’s your brother and Emma saying hi from Vermont. We went skiing with Graver yesterday but then it rained last night so we didn’t go today. Emma can do blue squares now and she’s getting pretty good. We like your blog a lot, forgot how creative you are. We love you lots. Keep blogging 🙂

  2. Amy permalink
    March 9, 2009 11:36 pm

    I got shout out. And so did my mom. Sorry we made your knee hurt, but you already know that it was out of love. And next time I bring four boxes of pastries, I’ll be sure you’re hungry. xo. Love the blogging.

  3. Amy's Mom permalink
    March 10, 2009 1:17 am

    Sorry about the too much of laughing and the too of pastries, we just fell into that sick friend bring food state of mind.

    You are the most fun sick person ev-er…and we love you.

    Blog is great…and so are you….

Leave a Reply

