Skip to content

still figuring this out….

March 6, 2009

So, being bed-ridden isn’t the most fun thing in the world.  However, I think it is hysterical to watch me hobble on crutches to the bathroom, however frustrating that is for me.  The good thing about being stuck here is I can blog, which is something I was thinking about starting for awhile.

I’ve noticed there are lots of  blogs out there about what people eat day to day(yummy!).  If I started writing about that now it would be pretty skimpy, all the meds I’m taking kill my appetite.  I’m not really complaining about that because part of me is nervous for post-surgery weight gain since I am expending NO energy(although my tiny crutch walk makes me really tired, hehe).  But I figured I would share(sans pics because I havent figured that out yet) my yummy breakfast that my Dad has been making me every morning.

Blend: 1 packet carnation instant breakfast no sugar added chocolate, 1 cut up frozen banana, 1 cup plain soymilk, and 1 tiny spoonful of white chocolate peanutbutter!

It looks just like a chocolate milkshake, and it tastes like a peanut-y, banana-y version of one.  I like it because it tastes amazing, has the protein and vitamins I need to heal, and………I can drink it!( I really hate eating in bed but at this point I don’t have much of a choice).

I also have found this amazing water at whole foods called,   365 fitness water.  It is sooooooo yummy!  It almost tastes like watered down vitamin water, which to me already tastes like watered down juice but I guess I like that.  It is not too sweet, it tastes natural, and there is only 50 calories in the whole bottle.  I have been digging the acai berry and mango flavor.  Oh and right now it’s two for a dollar which is supercheap for whole foods prices.  Plus- it has lots of vitamin C which is good for healing wounds!!

That’s all for now…..Lisa D.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    March 6, 2009 4:22 pm

    I feel your pain with how exhausting crutches can be. I’m also recovering from knee surgery (lateral release and meniscal repair torn while skiing!). I was worried too about post-surgery weight gain, but I’ve actually lost 15 pounds because the pain meds killed my appetite and it’s so exhausting to get out of bed to get something to eat that I’ve been snacking a lot less then usual. Good luck with recovery and the new blog!

  2. lisaheartspizza permalink*
    March 7, 2009 1:15 pm

    Thanks Ashley, I started physical therapy yesterday and they helped fix my poor crutching technique. But It still takes enough work that I don’t think I could drag myself out of bed for a snack. Thanks for stopping by I hope you keep reading and good luck with your healing as well-Lisa D.
    p.s. I also tore my ACL and meniscus while skiing-dangerous sport huh?

Leave a Reply

