Skip to content

what’s up doc?

July 22, 2009

I have a small tendency to eavesdrop…especially when I am by myself and the conversation at the next table starts with “the doctor says my 6 year old daughter’s BMI is 2% too high and he wants to put her on a diet”……eeek!

I did my best to contain myself but when the woman started talking about how the doctor told her daughter to not eat bananas(her favorite fruit) because of the high glycemic index I couldn’t help but open my big mouth and say something along the lines of “fruit is healthy, if your daughter likes bananas you should let her eat bananas”….we then discussed that most bananas are really two servings of fruit and have more natural sugars than most other fruit, they are high in potassium and soluble fiber, and the difference between glycemic index and glycemic load.  The glycemic index ranks the way a food impacts your blood sugar, and glycemic load takes into account serving size.  For example, carrots have a bad rep because they have a high glycemic index but you would need to eat A LOT of carrots to have the same impact on your blood sugar as a small piece of cake(which may have a lower GI score bc of the fat) so they have a relatively low glycemic load score.

she also asked me if peanut butter was mostly carbohydrates or mostly protein, but in actuality it is mostly fat! the healthy kind of course, with a little bit of protein(7 g in 2 tbsp)

Needless to say, I don’t think any 6 year old should be put on a diet, although it is nice to see doctors being proactive about healthy eating.  I also don’t believe in any diet that takes away foods like fruits because I love fruit and it usually contains a lot of anti-oxidants, vitamins, minerals and fiber. MMMMMM…fruit!

CIMG1059

p.s. fruit tastes even better with ______nut butter! This happens to be smothered in sunflower seed butter! Nom, nom nom!

One Comment leave one →
  1. barbara permalink
    July 23, 2009 12:04 pm

    glad to see you back :) missed you!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

